Jillian Buriak


Professor of Chemistry, University of Alberta
Canada Research Chair of Nanomaterials for Energy
AITF Chair Industry Chair of Sun-Powered Generation of Fuels and Power
Editor-in-Chief, Chemistry of MaterialsCM_title_logo


Google Scholar Profile




05/2018 Rio Tinto Alcan Award (Canadian Society for Chemistry)
04/2018 Xing Da Lectureship (endowed lectureship from Peking University)
10/2017 Covestro Lecturer in Sustainability (endowed lectureship from the University of Minnesota)
05/2017 E. W. R. Steacie Award (Canadian Society for Chemistry)
04/2016 Burghausen Chemistry Award from the City of Burghausen (Germany)
10/2015-09/2022 Canada Research Chair (Tier I) of Nanomaterials for Energy
06/2015 Arthur K. Doolittle Award
01/2015 Senior Fellow of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR)
10/2014 Killam Annual Professorship
04/2014-03/2019 Alberta Innovates Industrial Chair of Sun-Powered Generation of Fuels and Power
05/2013 Clara Benson Award from the Canadian Society for Chemistry
12/2009 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science
09/2009 Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (FRSC)
10/2008 Canada Research Chair (Tier I) of Nanomaterials
03/2007-03/2009 E. W. R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship (NSERC)
03/2006 Faculty of Science Research Prize
11/2005 Martha Cook Piper Research Prize
07/2005 Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC-UK)
05/2005 Rutherford Memorial Medal in Chemistry (RSC)
02/2005 WISET (Women in Science Engineering and Technology) Fellow
01/2005 Young Global Leader – World Economic Forum
05/2005 Canada Research Chair (Tier II) of Inorganic and Nanoscale Materials
04/2004 Canada’s Top 40 Under 40 (Globe & Mail)
03/2003 ACS Pure Chemistry Award
05/2002-05/2004 Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award
09/2001 Fresenius Award (Phi Lambda Upsilon)
04/2000-04/2002 Cottrell Teacher-Scholar (fellowship from Research Corporation)
10/2000-10/2001 3M Untenured Faculty Award
04/2000 School of Science Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award (Purdue University)
04/2000-04/2002 Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellow
04/1999-03/2003 National Science Foundation Career Award (4 year NSF grant)
8/1997-8/2002 Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation New Faculty Award (5 year grant)
6/1995-6/1997 Natural Science and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) Postdoctoral Fellowship
9/1991-5/1995 French Government Scholar (Boursière du Gouvernement Français – Ministère des Affaires Etrangères)
2/1994-5/1995 CIES Fellowship (Centre International des Étudiants et Stagiaires)
5/1994 The International Precious Metals Institute Award
9/1990-2/1991 Catherine Innes Ireland Fellowship (Harvard-Radcliffe)
6/1990-8/1990 ICI International Fellow (ICI Americas)
6/1990 Danforth Teaching Award (Harvard University)